## **Development Committee**

**Committee Members:** S. Anderson, J. R. Choate, H. H. Genoways, S. B. George, T. H. Kunz (Chair), A. V. Linzey, T. J. McIntyre, D. K. Odell, D. J. Schmidly, B. R. Stein, M. R. Willig, D. E. Wilson, T. L. Yates

## **Information Items:**

- (1) The Development Committee was established as an ad hoc committee in 1989 and became a standing committee in 1993. The mission of the committee is to promote the development of the Society through various forms of planned giving such as bequests, trusts, and gifts of cash or other assets. Coordination is required with other committees and informal groups that have related functions.
- (2) This past year, two major gifts (in the form of stock transfers) were made to ASM in support of the Oliver Pearson Fund. One gift was made from the Pearson Estate and another from a long-standing and distinguished member of ASM. We gratefully acknowledge this support.
- (3) In the coming year, the committee hopes to develop and implement a plan to encourage additional philanthropy by members of the Society to increase the number of patron members and to build the endowments for the American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship in Mammalogy, Future Mammalogists Fund, Latin American Field Research Fund, Oliver Pearson Fund, among others.

**Action Items:** None

Respectively submitted, Tom Kunz, Chair (kunz@bu.edu)